Two: Setting realistic goals

Planted: Sunday 5/12/2019
Last Tended: Sunday 5/12/2019

I went to see Avengers: Endgame today and afterwards went out for dinner and drinks. When I got home it was late and I wanted to go to bed, but I remembered that I promised myself that I would write for the next 100 days. I owe it to myself to see this goal to the end. I want to see if I can write on a consistent basis or if I need to wait for inspiration. Accomplished authors say that waiting for inspiration is a myth and the best way to finish a book is to work on it daily. So here I am working on a book daily.

I had a schedule for writing. After my morning routine, I would work on my dissertation revisions until 6pm, eat dinner, then creative write from 7pm to 8pm. I didn't plan for weekend hangouts during my creative writing time. Rearranging my schedule ahead of time might allow flexiblility on days when I have social activities.

Setting realistic goals is important. When it comes to writing projects, I tend to underestimate how much time something will take me to complete. For example, writing does not only include creating text, it includes proofreading, researching, brainstorming, and more. Yesterday, I said my goal was to write for 35 minutes and spend 5 minutes sending an email to the graphic designer. I ended up spending 20 minutes crafting the email and 20 minutes creative writing. The email took time to write because the designer wanted to know about my brand, project deliverables, and timeline. In the future I can set realistic goals because now I know how long it takes me to write an email providing details.

Goals for tomorrow

  1. Write for 20 minutes
  2. Spend 20 minutes finding quotes
  3. Spend 20 minutes writing Listed update

***Lisa-Marie


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Lisa-Marie
All posts