The Eye of the World - Chapter 41 & 42 [#100Days, Day 29]

Fear cannot be allowed to affect our course.
Moiraine Sedai, The Eye of the World, p. 541

    I remember the first time I stood in front of my team. It was a mundane topic; just the daily task list.  My hands were sweating; I tensed arms and legs to keep from shaking everywhere.  It took all of 5 minutes, but when I was done, my legs were shaking on their own so much I couldn't walk.  Not anything close to the portrait of an inspiring leader.  Prior to that day, I'd made every effort to avoid any semblance of public speaking.  Debate team? No thanks.  Running for school leadership positions? Hard pass.  That was my first lesson in leadership: get comfortable being uncomfortable.  Pushing ourselves outside the comfort zone is what develops us, as leaders and humans.  And it's hard work.  It takes guts* to knowingly walk towards something you would prefer not to do.  Turning aside, taking the easier path, ensures stagnation; personally and professionally.  


*Or, in the parlance of the book, a certain amount of mule-headed stubborn stupid.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from A Leader Reads
All posts