Hello world

Warning! I am no writer. But what's the harm in trying?

Some back story on how I got here, I find software fascinating and hence spend my time carefully going through what's new on Github(The worlds software repository,sorry Gitlab) and stumbled upon an open-source "Notes app". Now, I have seen many note taking applications like Google Keep, Notion, Obsidian, roam research etc. but what's new about "Standard Notes" (The name clearly doesn't live up to that). Curious, I clicked and went to it's repository page and found out it's a very minimal and privacy-first note taking application. It claims to have an encryption far stronger than normal applications claim to provide plus the code of the application is provided on the public domain for anyone to test and see for themselves. I really liked this take-no-prisoner approach and signed up.

I could see that it's a pretty basic application with a simple job of "taking your notes and keeping them private". But, after some playing around I found out they provide an option to host your own blog too. For writers who are not technical(still), this is a fantastic opportunity to just worry on their writing and forget the heavy lifting and endless cries of hosting your own blog. Plus they have nifty features built in like signing up for a newsletter, custom domain and taking donations. What else would you like? that too completely free!

All these features convinced me to pick up the habit of writing everyday, I mean I can't have any more excuses now. It doesn't get easier to start. I hope to stick to it and keep on writing. Writing is an age old profession and won't die ever.

Hope you guys like my brief story, I'll see you next week.

Best wishes.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Yash Srivastava
All posts