Development Diary 03 | 10 | 2018

Misadventures in Go

  • So I downloaded using the instruction on the go website, and clearly didn't pay attention to create the stuff in the directory I assigned it to. So, then I typed the go build command and it prompted me to install go using sudo apt get.
  • go env to show a list of Go values
  • I need to set the GOPATH
  • I should probably have a rough idea of what the go environment variables are.
  • Which reminds me: I should also know what the hell the bashrc is and how it control the environment.
  • Which also reminds me: I should also understand the vimrc as well.
  • I really don't know/remember shit but thankfully my current ventures are helping me with that issue.
  • I did the basic, "Hello World" program in Go
  • It's telling me to look at How to Write Go Code before I deep dive
  • Go Commands
    • build: compiles packages and dependencies
    • clean: removes object files and cached files
    • doc: show documentation for package
    • env: print Go environment info
    • bug: start a bug report
    • fix: update packages to use new APIs
      • This is interesting
    • fmt: gofmt (reformat package sources)
    • generate: generate Go files by processing source
      • Interesting
    • get: download and install packages and dependencies
    • install: compile and install packages and dependencies
    • list: list packages
    • run: compile and run Go program
    • test: test packages
    • tool: run specific go tool
      • Interesting
    • version: print Go version
      • Very sure I will be spamming this
    • vet: report likely mistakes in packages
      • Quite interesting
  • Compile packages and dependencies usage:
    • go build [-o output] [-i] [build flags] [packages]
  • Go is very anal about organization, which is fine by me.
  • I should bookmark that page.
  • Code Organization:
    • Keep everything in one single workspace
    • A workspace contains many version controls repos
    • Each repo contains one or more packages
    • Each package contains of one more go source files in a single directory
    • The path to a package's directory determines its import path
    • Different from other programming envs because every project has a separate workspace and workspaces are closely tied to version control repos.
      • Basically I'm going to confuse and screw myself much like when I code in Python vs. C++ and add semicolons to Python code.
    • Workspace:
      • src: contains Go source files
      • pkg: contains package objects
      • bin: contains executable commands
  • Upcoming To Do List:
    • Continue with examples from the Go site
    • I have the K&R Go Book so I will start going through that
    • I also have the Go Web Programming Book so I will keep doing web examples in Go

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from b17z
All posts