#8: How I cope when it seems like the world is falling apart

Totally lost my cool yesterday evening. The trigger: a story published in the Washington Post. I posted an impulsive update on Instagram.  

This morning: I could not sleep well. One of those days when I woke up feeling a bit anxious, thinking about all the easy, comfortable and privileged choices I have made in a deeply unequal, unfair and unjust world. 

So I got off the bed, went for a quick run, hit the gym and lifted weights. The hour-long workout, as always, helped me get rid of anxiety and prepared me for the workday. 

Then I reminded myself: the struggle for living in a better world is a long, arduous process. Don't react: understand and act. The only thing I can do in the short run is to give my best in what I do on a day to day basis. Resist things in smaller everyday battles. Fight against unjust power structures lurking in family, community and workplace. Don't accept the status quo. Support fellow citizens actively fighting for causes I care about. Keep eyes on the bigger battle. That's in my control. 95% of the things in the news are not. 

If that doesn't work, go back to the drawing board and reconsider the choices I made, and change course. What else?

Most importantly: whatever be the case, stay hopeful—even if that requires some elements of self-delusion :)

More from Samarth's Notes
All posts