;) - 22

I fucking hate the ;) face. I see it used everywhere on the internet, especially on tech forums, and it hurts me every time I see it. It's such a condescending, irritating thing, especially when the person using it is wrong. I'm not sure whether the people that use it are trying to be condescending or whether they're genuinely just tone deaf and think it's a friendly thing to end your comment with.

I have a close friend who uses it constantly, both during (friendly) debates in group chats and during normal conversation. I'm not sure how to break it to him that it's annoying as all hell. Maybe I should just send him the text of this post.

Anyway, I'm going back to school (after a 2-week break) so my posting will be weird for a while. We'll see how it goes.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts