Sssccchhhheeeedddduuuuulllllleeeee - 65

I'm trying to use a day calendar + time blocking to manage my schedule. It isn't flexible. I planned to get out of a meeting at 8pm, do some work, wind down at 9:30 tonight, and be in bed by 10:30. I ended up getting out of a meeting late - it's 8:30 now - eating dinner late - it's 9 now - spending time with my family - whoops, now it's 9:45 and I don't feel like winding down. Life is not built around me, and no matter how I try I won't be able to shape it around me - so why try?

I can keep trying new ideas, I guess. Dedicating a work period every day, day theming... I'm just not sure if the calendar should be used for anything non-mandatory. Maybe what I could do is introduce two calendars, one for things that really need to get done and another for things that should get done. I think that may add more complexity, actually. Nevermind.

I'll keep trying. Here's my list of things I want to try:

  • Making a decision flowchart or program that I run any time I want to do something other than do work
  • Seriously blocking time
  • [x] Day theming
  • [ ] Keep trying (lol)

Agh... nothing seems appealing. I don't know how to get myself to stop what I'm doing - I can't plan for the moment. (I'd say that 'planning for the moment' is a concept I'll probably write about in the future but it seems that anytime I say that I doom the piece to be shelved forever. I still haven't done the Firefox Focus follow-up from... holy shit, 47 days ago.)

-branches


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts