What has changed through writing?

#100days #freewriting #typing

I'm so excited about writing right now that I can't wait to get started. Yes, I enjoy putting my thoughts on paper with the help of the freewriting technique. As a side project, I have also started to learn how to type with 10 fingers.

My thoughts around writing are consolidating at the moment. I currently don't manage to complete the #100days challenge every day. But that's not so bad, because I'm still on topic. After recording the text about my approach to making music, I went to the forest again and listened to the first part (The Six Secrets to Freewriting) of Accidental Genius by Marc Levy. A really great book with tons of good advice. Nevertheless, I have to recapitulate the whole section by listening to it and reading it at the same time. So I want to pick out the essential points that I want to remember. My first freewriting session made me incredibly happy. I was very euphoric. The content was about writing itself, especially about writing speed. I realised that my typing is much too slow for the free writing approach. I decided that as long as I'm too slow at the keyboard, I'll do the free writing with pen and paper. I can write so much faster with a pen. The better performance is literally obvious. After all, I've been using this technique for years. It's the most natural writing skill, so to speak.

The topic of speed has now led me to learn the 10 finger typing. There is a lot of good advice out there that encourages you to take on this challenge. It's fascinating how the #100days have led me down this path. After the first exercises, I got an idea of how smoothly the 10-finger system works, even though it hurt at first. No need to look back and forth between the monitor and the keyboard. The text gets your full attention. Look at the monitor and your hands write blindly. That's great. I'm sticking with it now. It's worth it. My goal is to be able to type really well and fast on the keyboard. It's also worth it for me professionally. As a software developer, I don't just write code, but also documentation, concepts and emails. There's quite a bit of typing to do. I'm sure the 10 finger system will be of great help in this area as well.

The most important reason why I am learning the 10 finger system is that I want to cultivate writing and do it efficiently. When writing, I want to explore myself, get closer to myself. A kind of self-therapy, so to speak. For all this I need a good, fast writing style. My typing speed needs to be fast enough to keep up with the flow of thoughts and be the tool to record thoughts. First of all, it's about writing articles for the blog. The time required for this must be kept within certain limits. Within these limits I would like to achieve results, so that writing is fun in the long run. This has all become clear to me. I still write, but it only takes place backstage at the moment and serves the purpose of becoming aware.

#100days are already making such a difference.

Good night!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from ∴ fouram ∴
All posts