Life is Surreal Today

I don't even know if this is going to make sense, but I had to share it somewhere.

So, something compelled me to listen to Frou Frou's album Details a few minutes ago and I was mentally/emotionally transported to 2008-2009, when I was most into that album. At the same time, I was also texting with my good friend to check in about how we were each doing in our self-isolation bubbles -- a friend who was especially close to me in 2008-2009.

She responded with a picture of her partner standing next to an extremely realistic-looking duck in their living room. Or at least, the duck would be realistic-looking if it wasn't about eight feet tall. The caption was "playing with augmented reality lol."

And I'm not totally sure how to convey the feeling I had in that moment. It was basically like, "when I was sixteen, could I have ever imagined that in the year 2020 I would be self-isolating from a global pandemic while receiving augmented-reality updates from my best friend?"

Is there, like, a German word for that feeling?

More from the secret life of fruitkid
All posts