Sublingual

As peace dissolves sublingually
A huge burden is lifted
Receptors tingle as euphoria rushes
Straight through my veins

But what good is that euphoria
Born out of nothingness
Just a substance, false enchantment
But somehow life feels complete

And all the worries that ever plagued me
Living rent free in my head
All the pain, all the suffering
Just goes to bed

This euphoria scares me
And I don't know what to do with it
Because it's ephemeral
Fake and fleeting

And the next morning
Things will be normal
Or as normal as can be
Just fragments of a feeling forgotten

A figment realm where all is good
And nothing can ever touch me again
A different realm where peace exists
Oh please don't make me return again!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Learning To Talk About Things
All posts