Birthday Boy

I just turned 25. And it's weird.

I have that totally millenial feeling that even though I am married, have an apartment, pay all my bills, have a full time job, and volunteer in my community I still feel like a kid. I feel like I am not quite as smart or have everything together as my co-workers and peers do.

I don't think this is an uncommon feeling to have, but it's worth pointing out none-the-less.

Looking to the future, I see a lot of opportunity for Allie and I. We have had a great start to our careers and life together, and there is no reason we can't capitalize on this and grow to the point where we can effortlessly give back while supporting a family. But this has got me thinking, what is THE goal that we should be striving for? Should it be growing a family? Becoming wealthy? Helping those less fortunate?

The Christian Answer

As Christians, the answer to this should be obvious, but is not. The current purpose-driven philosophy would say a christians purpose in life is to "Glorify God". My view, and the view of the Lutheran Church, is that your purpose is to receive God's gifts. This isn't to say we shouldn't outwardly glorify him.

You know what, I'm no good at explaining this. Here is an answer from Luther himself:

“We cannot perform a nobler service to God than to offer
thanks. While praise and gratitude to God are the believers
highest service both on earth and in heaven, ingratitude
is the most shameful vice and the greatest contempt of God.”
LW volume 14 page 51

So that's my purpose. to avoid ingratitude of God's gifts by consistently receiving them. From this, we rejoice and sing praises, as is our duty.

The next year

Here are some things I wanat to accomplish this year. It's convenient that my birthday falls so close to the start of the calendar year!

Major Goals

  • Consistently receive God's gifts to the best of my ability
  • Develop a set morning and evening routine that includes prayer and meditation
  • Finish a Half Ironman
  • Finish saving for a down payment on a house
  • Learn another web framework (Vue, probably), and finish a side project in it

Minor Goals

  • Run 13.1 miles in 1:40:00
  • Read some books
  • Build a useful API in Go

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jacob Weimer
All posts