F**k Covid-19

I'm so tired of this Coronavirus pandemic. Everyday it seems more of our freedoms to do things are taken away from us and the more this pandemic is going on, the more depressed I feel and the less optimistic I am that we will ever go back to normal life. Coronavirus here in the UK is once again getting out of control to the point our most basic freedoms of human interaction is now being taken. As of typing is blog post (14th Oct 2020), the daily number of people being infected with Covid-19 is above 19,000 and the death rate is above 100. The R rate number is rising too and doesn't seem to be slowing so as a result, the infection rate will double even more as it gets higher.

The UK government are even considering a 2 to 3 week "circuit breaker" lock down where we are put under extreme restrictions to try and slow the spread of the virus. However, we went into a 4 month lock down at the start March and where has that gotten us? Yes the infection rate slowed down and even the death rates lowered from the peak of 900 to 1000+ deaths a day but as soon as we went back to some sort of normality, the second wave hits us. Even though these restrictions suck and I hate them so much, I understand why they need to be in place. We have to protect the elderly and the vulnerable. And believe me, I'm all for it. I just don't think lock downs work and this "circuit breaker" lock down will probably have an effect on the transmission rates for a little while and then BOOM! Here comes the third wave. It's just an endless cycle of going in and out of extreme restrictions at this point. I doubt a vaccine that's supposed to be released early next year will really do anything. This virus is most likely like the flu virus where we just have to deal with it and try to live a normal-ish life.

2020 f**king sucks and I hate to be "that guy" but I doubt 2021 will be any better. I guess all we can do is hope as hope seems to be the only thing Governments can't take away from us.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Kieran
All posts