Shortcodes for Annotating Physical Books

I probably read 80% of my books on Marvin these days.

I actually prefer reading physical books, but my workflow for processing and paraphrasing book notes is greatly expedited when I can send the digital highlights directly to Evernote or Roam Research.

When I do read a physical book, I still highlight, underline, etc., but I try to keep my annotations simple and consistent.

A while ago, I took a screenshot of a list of shortcodes for annotating physical books, because I thought they were really interesting. I edited and expanded the list and came up with this:

1,2,3 = numbered lists that organize the author’s ideas
AN = Anecdote, an illustration or story
BIO = Biographical reference
BK = Book, a book is mentioned
COM = Commentary, explanatory or critical notes
CS! = Controversial Statement
DEF = Definition, definition provided or needs to be looked up
DES = Description
DLG = Dialogue
EX = Exercise, habit, ritual, liturgy
FCT = Important fact or data
FP = Foundational Principle (often in Theology/Philosophy works)
HIST = Historical Reference
INT = Interview
LA = Logical Argument
LF = Logical Fallacy
LST = List
LYR = Lyric
MET = Metaphor
NS = News Story
PL = Punchline or joke
QS = Question
QT = Quotation, a quote I might like to reference later
REF = Reference, external to the source
RS = Resource
RV = Review
SUM = Summary
TEMP = Template
TS = Thesis Statement
VI = Visual Illustration

For the next physical book I read, I'm going to us these shortcodes. I think they'll be really helpful.

I've also added them to my Roam Research workflow for processing eBooks and working with notes in Roam.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Luke Miller
All posts