No Control. No Patience.

I'm trying to re-invegerate my brain to think about things that are actually worthwhile spending time on. My brain tends to jump from stupid thing to stupid thing. Obsessing about far to much along the way.

I drive myself insane. I'm sure I drive my best friend insane by repeating the same actions again and again even with their constant advice not to do it.

I have no ability to control myself. In any way. Food. Clothes. People. If I want something – I want it now and I can't really feel rested until I have it. Absolutely no control and no patience.

Having a broken leg the last 3 months has really tested that. I've had to wait for things. I've had to actively find new activities that could be done on the couch. This was not a simple task because my brain is always there, always active and not really that tired when you're doing nothing all day.

Lot's of time to ponder things. This is not good for me most of the time. I obsess. I create problems that don't really exist.

I'm lucky enough that I'm walking again, and rehab is going well. The thing I've noticed now things are back to 'normal' is some similar themes about what I'm doing with my lfie coming to mind.

These haven't really been that apparent when I was crutches. They took a back seat. The small things were what mattered. People, freedom, drawing. The things I couldn't physically were the things I missed the most. Taking photos. Discovering cute buildings. These were the things that I was aching to do.

Have I done much of that since I've been able to walk again? Not a huge amount. Granted, we have moved house and there's been a fair amount of shit going on with the social enterprise we're starting. But it's so easy for those things that really felt like they could make me happy when I couldn't walk, to slip away in the day to day grind.

I don't want to forget those things. I want to build them into my day to day life. Make them habits. Make them moments I can use to recharge.

I need to take the time to remember them before they are gone forever and it takes me breaking my other leg to actually find them again.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from madebymoir
All posts