Do Everyday

I'm trying to write every single day. And it's really hard. It's the first thing I do when I wake up every morning. Why? It's good therapy. And it instantly gives meaning to an otherwise blank canvas of a day. But I don't always have things to say. Or worse, I don't always feel like talking. I might learn a life lesson here and there, and be inclined to share it. But every single day?

Close to giving up, I visited Seth Godin's blog, and without fail, he writes a new post every single day. It goes back years and years. Not a single day missed. And it's good content, too.

Ok Seth Godin. If you could do it, surely it's within the realm of possibility for mere mortals like me. I just needed to know it was possible.

And, interestingly enough, his post today is about writing everyday:

The secret to writing a daily blog is to write every day. And to queue it up and blog it. There is no other secret.

I haven't missed a day in many, many years--the discipline of sharing something daily is priceless. Sometimes there are typos. I hope that they're rare and I try to fix them.

Over time, the blog adds up. People remember a blog post a year after I wrote it. Or they begin a practice, take an action, make a connection, something that grows over time. The blog resonates with people in so many fields, it's thrilling to see how it can provoke positive action.

What's your equivalent of writing every day? I enjoy writing, but maybe you enjoy making podcasts? or videos, or music, or apps, or comics, or yoga, or cooking—whatever you enjoy, try to do it every day. That's a meaningful life.


P.S. If you're wanting to blog every day, you can use the same tool I use (this site). You can publish directly from your notes, and readers can subscribe to updates via email or RSS. Go to the home page to get started.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Mo
All posts