A React Native tutorial

I wrote an article with a headline I won't apologize for on Medium some time ago about my experience with React Native. Since then, I still get the occasional comment or message asking the same question:

Do you have any tutorials you recommend?

This is a bizarre phenomenon that seems to emerge with large numbers, and I don’t quite get it. Find any article or tweet praising a framework, and you will invariably see comments of the same nature. Can you help me get started?

Better yet, when I said to one person that I don’t know of any resources other than the main website off the top of my head, he said “can you write one please?”

So here it is. Here is the definitive React Native tutorial that will allow you to build the cross-platform app of your dreams.

Step 1.

Clear your mind. Think about what it is you’re trying to accomplish. You want to build an app that runs on Android and iOS, and you want to write it in JavaScript. Great.

You should have also decided by now that this is important to you, and that you're going to do whatever it takes.

Step 2.

Open your favorite browser, and using your favorite search engine, type “react native”. Click the first result.

Step 3.

Click the button that says “Get Started”.

Congratulations! You’ve quite literally just taken the biggest step. There’s only one more, and, unfortunately, it's a steep one.

Step 4.

Commit yourself to these docs, reading, following along, crafting demos, every day for a few hours. Everything you need to build the app of your dreams is in here. You just need to put in the time.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Mo
All posts