Discoveries

I have learned that the act of discovering, whether by myself or through good friends, is a part of what's keeping me grounded in life. Maybe it's because I get to experience and explore a new space, and whenever I dig deeper and find these small details I like about it, my body responds with this rush of joy and this appreciation of life's reminder of how larger it is than what it seems. To be in awe, and the desire to extend this space to others. Below is a list of finds I had this past week, hoping that in these little spaces you can find a temporary shelter to sit and ponder upon.

Fiona Apple and Alan Watts

I was listening to Fiona Apple's latest album while I was cleaning our house, and when "I Want You to Love Me" played its second verse:

I move with the trees in the breeze
I know that time is elastic
And I know when I go
All my particles disband and disperse
And I'll be back in the pulse
And I know none of this will matter in the long run
But I know a sound is still a sound around no one
And while I'm in this body
I want somebody to want
And I want what I want and I want

I somehow found a connection to a particular paragraph in Alan Watt's "The Wisdom of Insecurity":

Where do I begin and end in space? I have relations to the sun and air which are just as vital parts of my existence as my heart. The movement in which I am a pattern or convolution began incalculable ages before the (conventionally isolated) event called birth, and will continue long after the event called death. Only words and conventions can isolate us from the entirely undefinable something which is everything.

I loved how both acknowledged our temporary stay here on earth, and how we are interconnected with everyone and everything around us. This pandemic we are in has probably put this reminder in the forefront, but on a personal level, this has given me more respect and appreciation to the vessel that is my body.

Central Park

When I got a new phone a few months back, it came with a free subscription to Apple TV+. Scrolling through its catalog then, I remembered being unimpressed, so I seldom opened the app after. But last week, I thought that I didn't want the subscription to go to waste, and so gave it a try again. I found that they added new shows and what really piqued my interest was "Central Park," an animated musical series about Central Park's manager and his family's adventures.

Central Park has the right amount of comedy and warmth brought by the family's support for each other as the went through their own individual journey. The musical tracks are catchy, too!

NTS.live

My friend told me that he seldom discovers tracks through Apple Music or Spotify lately, and relies to this radio site instead. I am so glad that he shared this site because it offers a lot of radio stations you can listen to, and you can pick based on the very particular list genres and sub-genres that the site has provided. As I am writing this, I am listening to this radio episode of SONGS 4 GIRLS under the Modern Classical and Ambient Jazz sub-genres.

More from perpetual novice
All posts