21.

To be honest, I probably wouldn't be writing this if I didn't feel so bad about missing yesterday. I'm already in bed, and my love is (almost) asleep next to me, and all I want is to caress her face and fall asleep together. But instead I'm writing nonsense because I told myself to. Great going!

So the first movie of the new year turned out to be a blast. I saw Knives Out in the cinema (a very, very crappy cinema at that) and I thoroughly enjoyed it. What I loved the most was the compassion that this movie showed, which is rare for something that is essentially a cheesy, dumb, fun Hollywood flick. Usually these movies are also to a degree violent, vile, unpleasant, nihilistic, or a combination of all of these things. Not this movie. It weaves a story without exploiting the people in it. It creates tension without fetishizing violence. And it has a lovely message without telling you what's right or wrong. This movie comes from the guy who made Looper, another great Hollywood movie that really shouldn't be as good as it is. And this movie came at exactly the right time too; sometimes you just need a way to defuse however you're feeling at the moment, and this did the trick perfectly.

Also, I did my first exam of my new study yesterday, and I'm glad it's over, but it also means that I have to start preparing for the next exam! Studying is really exhausting, but it's also quite rewarding for me, because (at least right now) I'm very interested in my field of study. What I also noticed when I started reading today, is that I have a much easier time understanding what's written compared to when I first looked at it and had my first lessons. It seems that things are falling into place, and that's very satisfying.

Well, it's not much, but it's enough for today. Time to go to sleep.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Teun
All posts