12/5

There was a year when I wasn’t really sure of myself. I didn’t want to disappoint those around me, and yet I found myself doing so no matter how hard I tried.

Not knowing what to do, I sought the advice and counsel of someone much wiser than me. They told me this:

“You entered this world with nothing, and will leave this world with nothing. All that you have is the space in between”

In my effort to continually please others, I had lost myself. I had forgotten about the truly important things that make me who I am.

One day I will depart this world and move to the next. The fabric of my being is made up of countless men and women who came before me, and of those who have yet to enter this world.

They are always with me. When the time comes, I won’t be lonely. When the time comes, I won’t have to worry.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Tom Hackshaw
All posts