Savings Accounts

Savings accounts have never been sexy. While there's a time and place for investing in crypto, stocks, bonds, exotic options and default currency swap derivatives, most of the time I'm spending my time in my checking account, and no interest is being paid there. At tax time, I remembered that my bank does have a savings account and I wanted to see how much interest I'd been earning all year on my rainy day funds. I was shocked by how low of an interest rate I was getting. Look at nerdwallet and comparison shop some of the other options out there, which are giving as high as 1.55% interest. Perhaps they aren't the brick and mortar banks you're used to with free toasters or Stratton Oakmont lions walking around, but they all offer help, and you can choose some pretty big names and get one started with very little.

 


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jerry Texas
All posts