I assert and defend my freedom of attention

Quote of James Williams, from a talk "Is our attention for sale?"

For me this means:

a careful choice of which books I read, podcasts I listen to
having my phone on silent most of the time
turning off almost all notifications
keeping the visible information in my room to a minimum
not viewing advertisements
practicing meditation
walking and running with just my thoughts
minimizing my exposure to recommendation algorithms (seeking info. manually)
very low habitual news-consumption
having time alone
rarely listening to music (especially with vocals) whilst working on anything complex
often turning off email and chat applications whilst at work
frequently shunning the open-plan office (pre-Corona)

Sometimes it is delightful to allow trusted others to claim my attention freely:

time with family and friends
festivals
parties
the radio (carefully chosen stations!)
algorithmically generated music recommendations (why are these better than the video/news ones? Perhaps there's less of an agenda with these. They provide quality, but not quantity. Music is also more passive than video/news)
high quality journalistic sources, ideally at their own websites
specific video content creators on YouTube etc.
Wikipedia: feeling lucky!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from ConsiderateWebUser
All posts