Creative Writing Based on a Childhood Memory

I burst open the door to the nursery, instantly overwhelmed by the subtle, warm aroma. It is four pm so she is standing right in the middle of her crib, her dumbfounded doe eyes staring at me. As regular as clockwork. I chuck my floral violet school bag across the room and dash towards my two-year-old sister. A smile grows of its own accord and I can't manage to contain my excitement to see my sister after a long day at school. The both of us are giggling uncontrollably. This is my favourite part of the day.

I reach into the crib and carefully lift my sister. Her skin is ever so soft and supple, her dimples so adorable, her gaze so pure. This moment of peace is interrupted when I toss her over my shoulders onto the king-sized bed behind me. Nevermind what I mentioned earlier; this in fact is my favourite part of the day. Usually, after throwing her, I would hear bubbling chuckles — bright and playful. Everyday, I would hear these captivating laughs and everyday I could just about drown in my grin.

However, this time I don't hear anything other than the constant ringing of my sister’s Fisher-Price baby mobile. The silence worries me. I spin so that I am facing the bed, pivoting on my heel. No baby. I crouch down to see if she, by any unfortunate chance, had landed on the floor. No baby. No baby!

I pace up and down the nursery knowing undoubtedly that I cannot mention this to my mother, who would obliterate me if I lost my baby sister. While in my pacing process, I stumble on a pink pacifier. Exasperated, I pick it up and hurl it onto the bed. It disappears. This is strange. My curious mind forces me to tip-toe towards the bed to inspect this phenomenon. I grab a pencil and I slowly poke it. I am moving as slow as the petals of a blossoming flower, afraid of what will happen.

My hesitation turns out to be justified because the pencil doesn’t bounce back after touching the surface of the bed. Instead, it dips into the bed, as if the bed is a body of water. The bed creates ripples that radiate outwards and I jump in the same direction. My brain stutters and I begin to wildly sob. I could just about drown in my tears.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Dhanvi
All posts