Grade 12 Experience

Grade 12 Experiences:

Topic: Intrigue into Watchmaking

Watchmaking is a topic of great interest to me, specifically as it connects to my primary academic interest of aerospace engineering. Over the course of the past year, I have become enthralled in the world of horology, having purchased a selection of vintage watches I am in the process of repairing. My favourite type of watches to repair are vintage dive watches; dive watches, due to their robust nature, are generally found on better condition as other watches. I have recently been offered a vintage "Dorset" dive watch, produced under contract for "Montgommery Ward", a large retailer in the United States. I have also gained a specific interest in vintage chronographs; Gallet chronographs represent the pinnacle of vintage fine watchmaking, with their chronographs generally being reported as retaining their accuracy to this very day. I am currently looking at a vintage Gallet Multichron Regulator wristwatch, dated to the late 1930's. This watch's primary use was to time artillery firing during WW2, record car races, and air raid timings.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Rokkomelon
All posts