Dating: How did I get the last laugh?

Dating can be a tough game. You put yourself out there, only to be ghosted, stood up, or just generally disappointed. But sometimes, dating can also be fun and rewarding. Like the time I got the last laugh on a date from hell.

I was set up with a guy by a mutual friend. Let's call him John. John and I had zero chemistry from the start. He talked endlessly about himself and didn't seem interested in anything I had to say.

But I persevered, because I didn't want to disappoint our mutual friend. So I went on three dates with John. On the third date, he took me to an expensive restaurant and ordered the most expensive items on the menu. I politely declined when he offered to order for me, and instead ordered something more modest.

When the bill came, John nonchalantly threw down his credit card and said, "I've got this." I was fuming inside, but again, didn't want to make a scene.

But then John did something that took it too far. He reached over and grabbed my hand, interlacing our fingers on the table. I'm not a touchy-feely person, and this made me extremely uncomfortable. At that point, I'd had enough.

I pulled my hand away and said, "John, I think it's time for me to go." He looked surprised, but didn't say anything as I got up and left the restaurant.

I was so angry, I didn't even want to speak to our mutual friend who had set us up. But then she called me, laughing hysterically. "You'll never believe what happened," she said.

Turns out, John had tried to leave without paying the bill! The restaurant manager had stopped him and made him pay in cash. Our mutual friend had seen the whole thing from another table in the restaurant, and she thought it was hilarious.

So did I. In fact, I got the last laugh after all. And it felt pretty good.

If you've ever been on a bad date, you know how frustrating it can be. But sometimes, it's worth it to stick it out – if only for the story you'll have to tell later. dating can be tough, but it can also be funny, adventurous, and even rewarding. So don't give up hope – your dating disasters could turn into dating gold.

What's your best dating story? Let us know in the comments!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Joy Marshall
All posts