Hello World

Since my teen years I've wanted to pick up writing however I never made much work of it besides a few poems here and some journal entries there. I think a combination of a few factors has always stopped me from pursuing this desire more intensely.

For one I've been stunned by the thought of sharing something unsightly with the rest of the world. However the truth that I know now is that it is better to try, fail and grow than to have never tried at all. What's more I think most people would even go so far as to encourage you as long as you don't do anything that is directly harmful to them.

Another thing that's stood in my way is the thought of oversharing and having it traced back to one's self. And while this fear still stands I've come to realize that most thoughts and experiences one can have are at least in some way quite ordinary; in that sense relatable, even.

So with the reasons for not writing out of the way I'd like to share my reasons for starting in the first place.

One reason is that my mind is in a near constant state of chaos with my thoughts running absolutely rampant, webbing out in a way that can even leave me paralyzed, unable to act. Often forgetting entirely what I wanted to say and or do. I find writing things down to serve as an excellent way to structure my thoughts and open a path to achieving my goals.

An extension of this is that writing helps bring me in tune with my emotions. As really emotion as I see it the confluence of one's feelings tempered with one's reasoned thoughts. And when one of these is in a state of disarray it becomes difficult to determine how one really feels about something.

Additionally I believe this will be an excellent creative outlet and a road to strengthening my ability to express myself more quickly while not skipping out on eloquence.

What's more I think writing will open a new avenue for learning. I can see myself spending time researching a subject before posting. Or extensively exploring my inner thoughts. You see, as cliché as it is, I think one of the greatest ways to master a subject is to break it down to its elements. And a straight forward motivator to do this is explaining something to another in such a way anyone could understand.

This brings me to the subject of what I would like to write about. At this point I'm not at all certain. I have a wide range of hobbies and interests, so I think I will just write about whatever tickles my fancy at that time. Hopefully it will in some way be meaningful or useful to others but really I have no such noble motivations.

That being said. While these are just my personal reasons for doing this, it would be nice if this would help someone else chink the chains inhibiting their self expression.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from M.J. Anthony
All posts