It really can change every ten minutes

Where I used to live had weather - of course it did. Everywhere has weather. It might change a lot, it might change a little, in some places I've lived it barely changed at all. You could have snow in the winter (I rarely did), or droughts in the summer (sadly more and more common, but that's a different discussion). So yes where I used to live had weather, but my new home just seems to have a little bit more.

There seems to be a common saying and joke in many places of the world - if you don't like the weather just wait a few minutes.

Yesterday was one of those days. For the first time I didn't wake up before my alarm, rather waking up to a shrill beeping of my phone and a heavy, hunkering rain - the sky was overcast and I couldn't see the opposite coast. The weather was closing in and the brook a loud roar as I decided I was not inclined to brave the weather outside. Except for the small problem of having to take out the rubbish and the recycling. Granted, in the grand scheme of things, of all the problems that existed on the World stage, me taking out the trash was hardly one of them - yet, at on a very individual level, it was something I needed to do, rain be damned.

Still I waited. In the distance I saw a glimmer of cloud free sky, as hope filled me up - maybe I could make it to the bin, only a mere fifty meters from the door, without having to either get soaked or go full waterproof (another oft used saying - there is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing).

So I waited. I watched. I did all those boring house chores one has to do. I saw my chance. I dashed out the door. It was sunny, it was warm, the wind had died down and it was remarkably pleasant. Still, it was no time to be complacent, wars were not run by resting on one's laurels.

I'd made it to the bins! The large style you have outside of restaurants or pubs, serving a few other houses up the hill. I was lucky, I could just walk down, most of the other people had a good hike up and down the hill - or more usually took their cars. The lids were up, the rubbish was in - all seemed well.

No one can say the weather here doesn't have a dark sense of humour, no sooner than I headed back, thinking I'd managed to grab a small shred of sunshine and stay dry, than the heavens well and truly opened up.

In the thirty or so seconds it took me to get back inside I was thoroughly soaked through - head to toe.

The worst bit of this entirely mundane tale? I went out for a proper walk later, and the exact same thing happened again - at least that time though, I was resigned to my fate.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from SeaToSea
All posts