What caught my attention this year?

Over the year, I have become very interested in learning about cultures that I previously did not know anything about. Although I am definitely not an uncultured person, having lived in 4 countries in my lifetime and having gone to international schools for almost 9+ years, I definitely know about other cultures and customs, and have grown to love learning about them over the year.

This initially began in the beginning of the year, when I started learning about Jewish traditions and holidays through my jewish friends. I was amazed by their commitment to holidays and traditions, such as Shabbat. Friends of mine, who were about my age, would spend Friday night to Saturday night, often without phones or computers, and have a delicious meal with their family. Some would go to the Synagogue for Shabbat service prior to their dinner. Apart from the fact that I think that is an amazing tradition to have, It impressed me that kids my age had the commitment to do that, without force from their parents.

I later on discussed this with my mom, and we spoke about religion, traditions and culture- and how we may not always believe in our religion, as humans we love to be part of something bigger- this could be a mosque, basketball team, cooking club... anything that helps us feel part of something larger than ourselves. Especially after the loneliness many of us experienced in the past year and a half, it is understandable that we are more appreciative of our little traditions and communities. Although I am not religious, nor do I play basketball, one community does come to mind- My school community. With its own culture, traditions and set of beliefs, I think we can all appreciate the community that we've built and how happy we are to be back with each other. I say this without trying to sound too slimey.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Sofia Baaima
All posts