New TAF Metrics - Some Progress

My thinking about the new metrics is that I can record the number of seconds since the start of the game as a timestamp for when each command is entered. I'll also record the time since the last command was entered.

This gives me a time-line of when each command was entered and a ready-made log of the intervals between the commands.

These are both recorded in the trace window preceded by a token/label. These can be easily pulled out of the log file of a game using the Linux grep command and, with some suitable scripting, be converted into a useful format, perhaps CSV.

I also need to work out a way of recording successful commands an unsuccessful commands. There might be a lot of places to try to capture those. The command interpreter passes off most of the actual command parsing and checking to other functions.

We shall see.

More from Dave McKay
All posts