My first Ramadan

I did a search and this article posted by Janet Kozak on 15th March 2023 came up 9 Tips for Getting Through Your First Ramadan, that usual, easy to digest format that is so commonly looked for. I take no credit of any sort for her work, and have no affiliation with aboutislam.net - but thought I could talk through it with my own experience/opinions as a reasonably new (ish) Muslim.


image

Background

First up a bit of background (if you know this bit do scroll down)

Ramadan is the 9th (of 12) of the Islamic months, based on a lunar calendar.

'Fasting and Ramadan' (Sawm) - is one of the 5 pillars of Islam. It is one of the obligatory acts of worship that Muslims should perform.

"Fasting (sawm).* During the daylight hours of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar, all healthy adult Muslims are required to abstain from food and drink. Through this temporary deprivation, they renew their awareness of and gratitude for everything God has provided in their lives—including the Qur'an, which was first revealed during this month. During Ramadan they share the hunger and thirst of the needy as a reminder of the religious duty to help those less fortunate."*
Reference

It is worth noting that certain groups of people are exempt from fasting:

  • pregnant women, women who are breastfeeding,
  • women who are menstruating,
  • people who are mentally or physically ill
  • The elderly and frail
  • Children are not required to fast until puberty

There are further rules around those undergoing travel as well etc

  • Usually Muslims will have a pre-dawn meal (Suhoor) before sunrise
  • And a Sunset breaking of the fast (Iftar)
  • At the end of the month of Ramadan, Muslims celebrate Eid, usually dressing smarter, attending Mosque and spending time with their friends/family/community
  • Fasting helps a Muslim purify themself with a spiritual cleanse
  • Muslims will use this month to try to enhance their faith, to focus on prayer and remind themselves of those less fortunate

Not always the best source - but for more reading - wiki


image

Janet's 9 tips

So, to take Janet Kozak's article's 9 points and add my experience. Hopefully it gives you an idea of the kind of experience and thought process:

1 – Overcome Your Fears About Dry Fasting

I, like Janet suggests, definitely overestimated my need for food and drink. I clearly remember my first Ramadan's first fast. I was convinced that I was going to feel weak and faint and run out of hydration really fast - definitely over dramatic...

That Suhoor (at about 0300 in the morning) I consumed a portion of cannelloni, a usual breakfast for me (2 slices of toast, and some yogurt and granola) and some fruit bar bits. I also had 3 pints of water, and a high calorie drink.

Safe to say I went over the top and basically consumed a whole day's worth of food and drink in one go

Turns out we really don't need that much and all this did was make me feel really really full.

2 – Keep Your Intention to Please Allah (SWT)

This one is of course pretty key. I remember prior to reverting to Islam a conversation I had with a few colleagues just as Ramadan was starting. I came into something like this:

Colleague 1: "...yeah but there's no way I could do it... for a whole month? and...not even water?"

The other (Muslim) colleague (2), simply said that it can be hard but they manage it and look forward to it. It is not a trial to be dreaded, but one to be excited for.

I remember saying to 'colleague 1' "you don't understand it, and that is ok, because you are looking at it from an outside perspective, clearly it means a lot to colleague 2, and it is that meaning and devotion that allows them to approach it with conviction.

I think I still like the conclusion I came to back then, and I appreciate and agree with colleague 2's summary: it is something that is great and fulfilling. Both in a sense that is relatable by anyone, to focus on self-improvement, on charity, on helping others; as well as spiritually, by focusing on your religion.

Attending night prayers, or completing them at home are a daily occurrence, and are of even greater significance in the final 10 days of the month.

3 – Do Practice Fasts

I didn't do this. I was committed to my plan of binge-eating in the nights that this never really occurred to me. I think it would be a good idea for someone to get an idea of what the physical elements are like.

I actively encourage anyone to try joining in for a day, week or more if you feel like you are up to it, and it is safe to do so.

4 – Take Your Healthy Eating to the Next Level

To be honest, this was a completely unexpected side effect. In the process of planning my food more and focusing on it - and believe me you focus on it - it (can be) quite a healthy month.

Not only are there some studies that show fasting can be of benefit in some situations, but I almost found myself turning to food that I expected would help me get through the day at Suhoor. And food that would help me replenish my energy at Iftar.

I found myself trying to snack on fruit and veg in the lead up to night prayers, or even between prayers, so that I knew I was replenished for the next day.

That is not to say I was always healthy - there is a certain level of amazing that an Iftar takeaway can taste like.

5 – Eat a Moderate-sized Healthy Meal for Both Suhoor and Iftar

As we have covered, I have a variable success rate at this one. My experience is pick a mixture of what you know works for you, with a bit of what you feel like eating. I know some people who will literally just have some water and maybe some dates at Suhoor, and others who want to consume more.

There is a good deal of benefit in focusing on slow release and healthy foods. For example, I got to discover Kisuri a lentil based dish during my first Ramadan.

I find that a mid sized meal works well, and then just snacking and sipping drink throughout the evening works well for me.

6 – Focus on Hydration

Fruit juice and smoothies can be good yes, but I have found that just sipping water throughout the evening is good enough

Drink what is good for you of course, would be the advice to give, but so long as you stay hydrated when the sun is down, you will likely be ok until the next evening.

7 – Remember You’re Not Just Fasting From Food

Another important one to remember - it is about more than just not eating and drinking. People will often focus on both harnessing their faith and religious practices, but also on just 'being better'.

It is common that people will try to make changes in themself towards being more like the person they want to be, both in a general and in a religious sense - often both are one and the same.

People will attend night prayers, read more of the Quran (the Holy book of Islam), and to give more to charity and be kinder and more positive in general.

I remember I took a tally of every time I swore and took 'that amount' * £1 and sent it to those who had more use of it than me.

8 – Take Power Naps

Sometimes, yes, I would often find that as Iftar approached I would get more tired, some days I did get a headache but only a few times. But as soon as the first bit of food and water goes down, you are almost completely re-energized. Just from a few dates, you have a sense of sugar rush.

So if you are feeling like your head is a bit off, then definitely take a nap - a short one can be well worth it if needed.

9 – Listen to Your Body and Know Your Limits

This is definitely a big one. As Janet says in her article, a lot of fasting is not actually made hard because humans need to eat constantly. But food and water do make a difference. Willpower can get you through much more than you'd expect. But if you are having an off day, its best to just take it easy.

I remember last year, I thought that I could continue just exercising as I was outside of Ramadan, inside Ramadan. Turns out I could not.

Or rather, I could not do so very well - I think with it being still reasonably new to me, taking it slow is the better way to go. I got halfway through my planned workout and just felt a little dizzy. So I stopped - and I am glad I had the sense to do so, not very much like me, at least not in the past.


It is a great month and a great experience, and a very key part of Islam and a Muslim's life. It can be hard, and you do have to do some planning, but generally it is amazing.

I know that often people will meet up for Iftar to break their fasts together, sometimes people in a community will take it in turns to host meals and feed their friends and family

I would recommend to those who are not Muslim, a quick internet search and to give the fasting a go yourself, you never know, you might like it.

(I have tried to be accurate as best I can, and Allah knows best)


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Adam
All posts