My first Tarawih (night prayers in Ramadan)

Lockdown had passed and I wanted to go for the night prayers during Ramadan. I had never been before and Islamically there is much reward and goodness to be obtained by doing so. It isn't considered obligatory - but it is highly recommended.

There are lots of details about it - but essentially you would pray your usual Maghrib (sunset) and Ishaa (night) prayers - then almost straight after Ishaa, night prayers would commence. They are only two rakah at a time (2 sequences of standing rather than the more common 4 in the daily prayers) but they are often much longer with the Imam reciting longer. Many masjids seek to complete the Quran through recitation in just these night prayers within the month. You might do 8 sets of 2 or maybe 20 sets of 2 - and depending on where you go it usually takes about an hour and a half, more or less. You will have eaten at this point, having fasted all day - so at least for me, my head was often tingling with the rush of sugar scrambling through my veins.


image

Anyway - I had prayed in a Masjid before, but for my first Tarawih, I went to East London Mosque (ELM), which was a great deal bigger than anything I had been to, and since it was Ramadan, it was considerably more busy too. I went to the Iftar (breaking of the fast meal at sunset) in which thousands of people attended to be fed. It is free for those attending and relies on the donations of others for it to be funded. Muslims give massive amounts of charity, even more so in Ramadan. To provide the food for someone who has been fasting is considered a good deed.

I had only ever really been to small local Masjids before, a community one here and there or a Uni one whilst passing through. So this East London Mosque was pretty big.

It was nice to get to go somewhere and, for the most part, just be ignored.

I walked in, did my couple rakah and saw someone drawing attention to the back to encourage people to go and eat before prayers. I queued through the back with hundreds of other people. Those organising it had laid out huge rolls of paper on the halls floors to be sat at and eaten upon on, like long tables in a grand hall or castle or something.

By the thing I had gotten there this room and the next area was already mostly full. Fortunately for me they offered a meat and a meat free option. So I got a plate of Kissuri and Chana Masala (I think those are the correct names)

Kind of like this, semi spicy -

image

Served with this also.

Of course we also got given some dates to break our fast with as well.

Dates are an important food in Islam.

image


There wasn't enough space in the main hall, so they had lined some of the space outside of that which is where I ended up sitting. I was standing with a cup and a plate with a load of other people all standing wondering were exactly to go. So we all collectively shrugged our shoulders and just say where we stood.

We said Salam to eachother and talked about how busy it was. Someone needed a tissue so I passed one, and offered round hand sanitiser. I had brought various things with me to make sure eating was comfortable for me, not knowing exactly what to expect. I even had a spork of sorts ready to use. At the time of Maghrib starting, sunset, the end of the time you need to fast, the loudspeakers all sounded the Adhan (call to prayer) and everyone knew to begin eating.

Conversation moved and shifted, inevitably covering that I am a revert, and that Tarawih was new to me. The four of the people I was mainly talking to at this point essentially decided to adopt me for the evening (in the endearing way, rather than the patronising way). They were super keen to 'hear that revert story'. So after food and Maghrib, we went for another food, and chatted.

They had all met up from around the country for Ramadan which was really nice to see and hear about. And they loved this one food place near the Masjid, so we went there. They got a massive sharing platter of rice and meat, and one of them felt bad so ordered me some date cake, which was good.

We talked about who they were their jobs and life and Islam. I talked about, what was probably a less dramatic revert story than they were expecting - they seemed interested either way.

One of the main themes of their reaction was of surprise/confusion as to me having reverted and looked into and learnt about Islam outside of a masjid based community. Of course lockdown had an influence on this - but to them and as is the case, Islam is very community based.


We went back to ELM for Ishaa and Tarawih and we prayed.

The sheer scale of people there was very different to anything I had experienced. The lines were so long, and the 'praying shoulder to shoulder' was very true, each room was completely packed. The lines were tight, and people filled every single gap.

I noticed that people prayed differently to each other in small ways. But I was also reassured to see that people prayed as I had learnt also, something I hadn't seen so much at my local masjid.

The imams who were reciting first and second, were both clearly very experienced. And judging by the way I heard people talking afterwards, very respected. They would recite very passionately and emotively with a great control over their tone whilst doing so.

I stayed most of the week and attended every night. One really anecdote that I got to witness was in one of the other nights. Some people will stay for 8 sets of 2 and some will stay for 20 sets of 2. Both having their evidence for doing so. On this night it was after the 8th that the reciters switched. They leave a small gap between them so that people can leave if they want, without disturbing others. A group of young men were leaving, perhaps around the ages of 20. And as they were getting towards one of the many shoe areas, the next reciter started. He was 'the popular one' and is renowned for his excellent recitation. I think it was Sheikh hazem saif - upon hearing his voice they all turned to each other excitedly and went back into the hall.

It was so nice to witness and gave me an extra sense of value to the quality of the recitation.

This man's recitation became the difference between them staying and leaving. Those extra prayers and extra good deeds and extra worship they all collectively committed, was a ultimately their decision - but it was made clear for them by this reciter.

Allah knows best - it is possible that this small thing makes all the difference for them.


It all just felt very nice. The place itself was impressive to me, there were books available, people just praying all the time, the food and the new friends, the recitation and the calm.

It was a really nice experience and I'm and grateful it was such a positive one.

I also got to learn what it was actually like to pray the night prayers of Ramadan, in congregation that is.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Adam
All posts