Day #14

Tomorrow isn't guaranteed.

I got that stark reminder talking to a 57 year old man today with less than a year to live. While he was telling me his story and explaining in a quite a matter of fact manner that his life was soon going to be ending, it hit me between the eyes, and not for the first time in my life, that life is so incredibly short. Even if you have a good innings and get to your 80's, you may still look back and wonder how the years flew by.

I know one thing is for certain. I want to look back and marvel at the things I did. I want to look back and remember how present I was with my children, how much precious time we spent together, how many really difficult things I did and how many challenges I overcame, both physical and mental.

Otherwise life will just keep passing you by. It will be the thing you will do next week, next month, next year.

Fuck that. If tomorrow isn't guaranteed, what makes you think next year will be?

In the last 6 months I've started doing some things that have been on the list of things 'I'll get around to doing', but just decided to rip the band aid off and get it fucking done, or have a crack and fail - both of which happened.

I ran a half marathon with 8 weeks training off zero base fitness. I started a pursuit to do 100 push ups a day for a year - which I failed due to a shoulder injury from surfing in November which I am still rehabing.

But you learn from the failure. It drives you forward the next time you try, knowing that you don't want to have that bitter disappointed of not achieving a goal you set out to achieve. So I'll achieve the 36,500 push ups in a year goal I originally set. I don't know when, but I will.

Setting up this blog is another example. This idea has been stirring in my head for months - to share this journey of growth, to see if others are in the same boat and want to come along for the ride - but there has been this mental block, this fear of failure, of not being good enough to share my writing - because what the fuck do I know?

But here I am. I'm just showing up, knowing that life is too short, and I'm too scared that it will pass me by and I'll be someone who has all these things they wish they did but never pulled the trigger on any of them.

Let's not be those people. Let's fucking do it.

See you tomorrow.

Adam
day#14


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Adam
All posts