Learning to Write Again: Resources

I hope these books, selected from a longer list of recommendations by friends and search results, will guide me as I learn to write again.

  1. Do I Make Myself Clear?: Why Writing Well Matters by Harold Evans
  2. Reading Critically, Writing Well by Rise B. Axelrod, Charles R. Cooper, Ellen C. Carillo
  3. Tell It Slant by Brenda Miller and Suzanne Paola
  4. The Artful Edit by Susan Bell
  5. The Editor's Companion by Steve Dunham
  6. The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing by Michael Harvey
  7. The Writer's Practice by John Warner
  8. Why They Can't Write by John Warner
  9. Writing Science in Plain English by Anne E. Greene
  10. They Say/I Say by Gerald Graff and Cathy Birkenstein
  11. Fundamentals of Good Writing - A Handbook of Modern Rhetoric by Cleanth Brooks
  12. Have You Eaten Grandma by Gyles Brandreth
  13. How Writing Works by Roslyn Petelyn
  14. What Editors Do by Peter Ginna (Editor)
  15. What Is Good Writing by Geoffrey J Huck
  16. Writing to be Understood by Anne Janzer
  17. Writing Without Bullshit by Josh Bernoff

I also received some recommendations on must-read essays and essayists based on my response: "Oh, I liked Virginia Woolf" despite remembering only one essay of hers--"The Death of the Moth" as it was included in an English class.

  • Think, Write, Speak by Vladimir Nabokov
  • A Literary Education by Joseph Einstein
  • Joan Didion
  • William Safire
  • Virginia Woolf
  • Zadie Smith
  • Audre Lorde

I forgot some authors and collections, but that's alright. As long as I continue my learning, I'll eventually encounter them.

More from aforenotes
All posts