Hostile architechture

I was at the train station this morning when I for the first time noticed the silver steel bench. It was the gleaming arm-rest that really caught my attention. "So thoughtful out the authorities to provide this little detail." It was physically comforting but for some reason I couldn't get myself to accept this kind thoughtfulness.
It was only a week ago that I had read an article in the Times that spoke of how New York subways are ditching the traditional seats to opt for 'lean only' benches.

A quick google search for 'Hostile architecture' brings laughably depressing images of how humans try to control the behavior of other humans by way of environment.

It goes to show how seemingly innocuous things can have such a profound impact on how we behave.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Allwyn Fernandes
All posts