Tromsø, Norway

🇳🇴 We were invited to spend the Christmas holiday in the Paris of the North - Tromsø, Norway. We had a white Christmas with real reindeer, sleigh rides, backcountry skiing, Norwegian cuisine, and the aurora borealis. I think Christmas was invented in Norway. Santa is from the North Pole. Reindeers are not mythical creatures here. All of the Christmas carols we sing about dashing through the snow on one-horse open sleighs, over the hills we go, laughing all the way - obviously come from the Arctic. They actually do those things here. I've never done it before in my entire life even though I sing about it every year. It was so much fun to have the real experience. It's one of the best Christmases I have ever had.

My one and only Christmas wish this year was peace in Ukraine. That wish did not come true. But I did get a beautiful new home in Norway, the most beautiful country in the world, with the most beautiful women in the world, and I am thankful for that. I'm ready to settle down in the happiest and wealthiest nation in the free world to live a peaceful life in a peace-loving nation with peace-loving people that respect human rights. Thanks universe.

We should all be thankful that we live in the free world, and that the free world even exists. I'm happy that I can do and be whatever I want whether anyone likes it or not. I can be as many different things as I want. I can change my mind and my career as often as I want whenever I want. I can love whomever I want or as many people as I want. I can live wherever I want. I can travel wherever I want. I can start as many businesses as I want. I can create whatever I want. Anything and everything is a possibility. It simply depends on my own desires, courage, and ambition. But there are still too many people in this world that do not have those same freedoms. I hope some day they will.

I think it's unfortunate that there are people in this world, even in the free world, that want to challenge those freedoms. They want to take your freedom from you, and infringe on your human rights. They want to define happiness for you, and force you to live the way they believe you should live. Those people are afraid of freedom. I promise I will continue to create strategies to protect our human rights and expand the free world to make it more inclusive, and less exclusive. Freedom is not a privilege, it's a human right. xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts