The Enemy of My Enemy is My Friend

🇵🇱 Poland breaks my heart with their anti-LGBTQ rhetoric, but I do appreciate everything they are doing for Ukraine. They have accepted millions of Ukrainian refugees into Poland, and they are one of the fiercest supporters of Kyiv. They were also the first country to offer Ukraine tanks and now fighter jets. They keep pushing the West to do more and provide more weapons to Ukraine. The leaders of Poland loathe Vladimir Putin as much as I do. So I still consider them strong allies, despite the rhetoric. They are also the strongest country on the eastern flank, and that makes them vital to the security of Europe. That is why we wanted a military base in Poland. We want to remain strong partners with Poland despite our different views on the LGBTQ community. We don't want them to pursue an isolationist policy like the UK, or even become neutral like Austria. My best friend in High School was Polish-American, and her parents treated me as a second daughter. I spent most of my holidays with them during my teens. Chicago, my hometown, has the largest community of Polish people outside of Poland. I know Polish people are good people. I do believe Poland will eventually lighten up against the LGBTQ community. We know for a fact they will never resort to the same tactics as Russia as long as they remain in the European Union, because it is illegal. xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts