NATO Secretary General

๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ I know Ben Wallace really wants this job, and Ben Wallace is highly qualified. I appreciate everything he has done for Ukraine. Many other candidates have not expressed any interest at all in the position. However, there is still too much bad blood between the UK and the EU after Brexit. I don't think a British Secretary General, especially a Brexiteer, will be able to maintain the unity among NATO members like Jens Stoltenberg has been able to do, and that is really the most important quality we need in a Secretary General right now. We also really want to encourage Ireland to join the alliance, and I don't believe a British Secretary General will be successful at accomplishing that goal.

I think Mark Rutte would be the best choice if he is interested in the job. He has over a decade of experience working with a variety of European leaders on critical issues as the head of state of the Netherlands. I also strongly support Denmark's Mette Frederiksen and Estonia's Kaja Kallas. I also believe Finland's President, Sauli Niinistรถ, would be an excellent Secretary General, although Finland is a new member in the alliance, perhaps too new for a Finnish Secretary General.

xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts