H.R. 6976

🇺🇸 I was a victim of a drunk driver who struck me several years ago in LA while I was riding my bicycle to work at 9 a.m. in the morning in one of the few bike lanes that existed in LA at that time. I was rushed to the hospital and I had to undergo surgery. The driver was an illegal immigrant from Mexico with no right to drive in the USA or even live in the USA. He had no insurance, and no way to pay for any of the damages he caused. He clearly did not care either. He did not even offer me an apology.

I used to be an avid bike rider. I loved to ride long distances on my vintage road bikes - American, French, and Italian. While living in Chicago, I would ride up and down the Magnificent Mile every morning. When I moved to LA I refused to give up my bike riding hobby even though the city is not bike friendly. But after that accident, I never rode any of my bikes again.

I am not opposed to the legislation passed by the House today. I would have voted for it myself. That one is personal for me. I'm sending a personal thank you note to every representative that voted for it.

xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts