Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

🇮🇱🇵🇸 I told Israel's Prime Minister that his name would be dragged thought the mud. That was several years ago back in 2017 or '18. Now that leaders around the world, including American Jewish Leaders, are doing exactly what I had insisted would happen does not make me smug. I don't get any pleasure out of it at all.

I'm no longer a naive artist as I was in 2017. I'm extremely well-read in foreign affairs and military affairs now, which has completely changed my worldview. I understand now that Israel has legitimate security concerns, which I completely dismissed back then. I also understand that terrorists and terrorism can not be defeated with kindness.

The Israeli government's first priority is to protect Israeli civilians, and defeating Hamas is the only way that Israel can prevent future terrorist attacks from the group and keep their citizens safe. But there is no valid reason to blockade humanitarian aid from entering the Gaza Strip. It only damaged Israel's credibility in the international community. The entire world sympathized with Israel after the terrorist attack, but Netanyahu has managed to turn public opinion against Israel. I do not understand why Netanyahu would do this, so I believe Senator Schumer's rebuke of Netanyahu was justified.

The Gaza Strip needs a multinational security force to restore civil order, to deliver and distribute humanitarian aid, to protect the Palestinians, and to prevent Hamas or any other opportunistic terrorist group from taking control of the territory. I do not believe it is Israel's responsibility to do this. I believe it is the international community's responsibility, and I am disappointed that the US government, the leader of the world, has not accepted this responsibility.

The Biden Administration could have prevented this crisis, but they refused to take on any responsibility. They have shown support for Israel, denounced terrorism, and expressed sympathy for Palestinian suffering. But they have failed to develop and execute a strategy and take control of the situation to ensure that both American and Israeli objectives were met in compliance with international laws and norms. Instead they left is all up to Netanyahu, and that was clearly not a wise decision. Now they are simply turning the cirri into political theater to the satisfaction of the far-left but to the annoyance of the majority of Americans. xo

More from Billie Pate
All posts