Social Media - American conglomrates

Green Party Bio

Gareth's Green Party Photo

In my 'bio' on the Green Party website, before I was elected, I said

Many of the societal problems we see today are rooted in business practices of tax avoiding American internet conglomerates and their intrusive surveillance advertising practices.

So, it is with this in mind, my Councillor Facebook page will be merely a pointer to my publicly accessible Blog (which you are reading right now).

Many of the people I speak to, in the community, dislike Facebook, Twitter (X as it is now known) and social media more generally.

Arranging my social media presence in this way means that residents are no longer compelled to register their details with one of these untrustworthy, privacy disrespecting, companies in order to receive local news and updates. 😁

Additionally, residents can subscribe anonymously and receive an e-mail update whenever I post.

If you are interested in how alternative Social Media works I'd highly recommend investigating the Fediverse, it's a much nicer place to hangout. You'll find my personal account over @gruff@stroud.social

This is a very informative potted history:- https://www.lawfaremedia.org/article/what-earth-fediverse


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Cllr Gareth Kitchen
All posts