WhatsApp

Great. This mobile device was purchased solely for Council work and to deal with WhatsApp.

A KaiOS mobile phone displaying a warning message that WhatsApp support is being discontinued

I purchased it from my own pocket as SDC won't permit mobile phones against expenses.

Now WhatsApp, a Meta owned company, have discontinued support on these devices.

At least you can contact me quickly and securely using Signal or e-mail.

Signal is a great company and their product is just as effective as WhatsApp but without all the tracking, privacy and metadata issues associated with Meta/Facebook. It's free for all, except I choose to make a monthly donation in exchange for a badge on my bio picture. :)

Also, Signal is open-source and supports the Linux desktop environment, which is pretty much essential for me as it fits into my workflow.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Cllr Gareth Kitchen
All posts