Human Rights Act 1998

Freedom of Expression

19th September 2024

Freedom of Speech word cloud

Article 10 protects your right to hold your own opinions

Article 10 protects your right to hold your own opinions and to express them freely without government interference.

This includes the right to express your views aloud (for example through public protest and demonstrations) or through:

  • published articles, books or leaflets
  • television or radio broadcasting
  • works of art
  • the internet and social media

Background

My blog posts sometimes get me into trouble. More so now I'm elected, it seems! This one, from three years ago, has caused quite a few problems this week!

But, hey, most people in the town know me. They know that I'm a bit outspoken sometimes, but they also know that I always act in the best interests of the town and the wider community. I guess this is one the reasons I was elected (and I'm honoured) to represent and serve the community.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that if you ever have any issues about any of my blog posts come and have a chat, you know where I am. I probably won't change what I've written unless I've got things hopelessly wrong, but we can have a talk about it.

However, if you own a .gov.uk e-mail address and expect me to make amendments or exercise editorial control I'll laugh at you and send you on your way! In a democratic society this is a line that cannot be crossed.

PS. Here's my blog btw. https://listed.to/@eco_g


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Cllr Gareth Kitchen
All posts