Day 1

I've decided to join the #100Days challenge. I'm not sure if I'll write everyday for 100 days, but let's see what happens.

My interests are drinking pina coladas, walking in the rain, and adopting orphan ...

Oh, wait! That's not me. I don't know if I've ever drunk a pina colada. Walking is good, with or without the rain. I don't adopt any orphan anything.

What do I want to say about myself? Why do I have to say anything myself?

Maybe I can talk about my own relationship to technology throughout my lifetime and the changes that I've seen and what I think about those changes.

Maybe I can talk about being a Catholic. I was baptized as an infant and went to a Catholic school through the 5th grade. I left in hurt and in anger and in despair. I returned. I left again in hurt (although not so much anger that time). I returned. I wandered away. I returned in sickness and in directionlessness, but beckoned by the Eucharist. My devotion ebbs and flows.

Maybe I can talk about living with serious mental illness, and just what does "mental illness" mean anyway, and my experiences with therapy and medication and hospitalization.

Maybe I can talk about raising my daughter, if she agrees. (I will not publish any information about her without her agreement.)

Maybe I can talk about raising my grandson 20 years later, what's the same and what's different and why I think that might be. (Hints: my daughter and my grandson are different people, the world is different in many significant ways, I am different, etc.) Of course, my grandson also would need to agree before I would publish anything about him.

Maybe I can talk about the world that I grew up in, and the changes that I've seen, and what rays of hope I see, and where I see darkness raising up, and what I think I can do in response.

Maybe I can talk about surviving a stroke and what I learned and what a gift it has been for me.

Maybe I can talk about aging and what I expect, and fear, and hope in the future.

Most likely, the items that I write will not adhere to any of those boundaries, but wander back and forth through these facets and others that haven't yet surfaced.

ej


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from ej
All posts