Dissertation Workflow, August 2020 (day 13 of 100)

Every so often, I decide to refresh my systems for getting work done. I've never really settled on any one routine for very long; I guess I just like to shake things up sometimes. It's totally a form of procrastination, but at least it's one that gets me excited about working again after a hiatus or a depressive funk or whatever.

Writing out my process helps me untangle my thoughts and start moving forward again. I was originally just writing this out for my own benefit, but then I thought it might contain a helpful nugget or two for someone else. So I decided to share it. If you get something out of it, I'd love to know!

Tools

  1. Firefox / University library resources / etc
  2. Nebo with Asus Pen
  3. Adobe Reader
  4. Zotero
  5. Zotfile
  6. Workflowy
  7. Standard Notes
  8. Most Dangerous Writing App
  9. Idiomatic
  10. LibreOffice Writer

Goals

  • Every day:

    • write something
    • edit something
    • read something
    • discover something
  • Remember to:

    • Take breaks!
    • Leave a day between steps for the same source if possible; stay fresh
    • Break tasks into tiny mini-tasks
    • Use timers and stick to realistic time limits

Steps

  1. Gather sources via Firefox, university library, etc | discover
  2. Save citations to Zotero via extension or manually | discover
  3. Read source and annotate in Adobe Reader and/or Nebo | read
  4. Gather new citations discovered in the source; save to Zotero | discover
  5. Copy source notes to Standard Notes (for archival/reference purposes)
  6. Copy source notes to project page in Workflowy
  7. Tag individual notelets with themes in Workflowy | write
  8. Filter by tags in Workflowy; copy notelets of the same theme into respective sections in SN project doc | write
  9. Write using the arranged notelets in sections using Most Dangerous | write
  10. Edit and revise text in Standard Notes using markdown, several rounds | edit
  11. Export to rich text using Idiomatic; paste to LibreOffice Writer
  12. Final formatting edits | edit

Final Thoughts

As writing tends to go, this process is definitely iterative and requires lots of looping back. Oh, and "notelet" is a word I just made up to describe discrete ideas that I take down in my notes; a notelet could be a direct quote, a paraphrase, or an idea and/or response that I come up with while reading. You can think of them as individual index cards. Finally, I'm writing in an interdisciplinary humanities/social science field, so I'd be interested to know how well this process translates to other types of research.

Take care,
fruitkid

More from the secret life of fruitkid
All posts