How to install the Slint VSCode extension in a Fedora Silverblue Toolbox

For context, I have VSCode installed inside a Toolbox in Fedora 40 Silverblue.

Getting the Extension to work in a Fedora container

The Slint VSCode extension was not working for me; it was starting and then crashing with an EPIPE write error. The way I resolved it was to install the libinput dependency in the container:

sudo dnf install libinput-utils

More context on what this is can be found in this GitHub issue: https://github.com/slint-ui/slint/issues/4926

Making the Live Preview work

I encountered two issues with the Live Preview, and here is how I resolved them.

  1. The "Preview Window" when spawned was not able to be closed.

    To work around this, checking the settings option Slint > Preview > Provided By Editor allowed me to work around this issue.

    It appears as though this issue may be resolved as soon as this fix is shipped with the VSCode extension: https://github.com/slint-ui/slint/pull/5529

  2. Each time I dragged items from Design Mode toolbar into the app in the preview, it was opening the .slint file and overlaying the preview.

    To work around this, clicking the three dots in the top right and select "Lock Group". This prevents any new tabs from being opened in that section.

  3. When first loaded, the Design Mode toolbar did not contain any items in the toolbar.

    To work around this, type any character in the Slint editor window for the LSP to react and update the view. Then, for me, the sidebar started populating again.

More from gridlocdev's blog
All posts