"An idea, to stop my boredom"

Before I tell you about my idea, you'll need to know what happened before I had this idea...

I have ADHD, so I cannot stand being bored. I have ways to get around it, for example, visualising a Debian 10 connection through SSH in the middle of English class and navigating around, coding a website, etc. But I cannot keep myself occupied with just that, I need something to do when I have access to the internet. Coding a website from a control panel like cPanel or StackCP is just boring, that's where my idea comes in. I have many, and I mean more than the average person, vps servers which I use (they're all connected and share resources). The little idea of mine would cut costs by 90% within a 5-year time frame.

A server. Not just any server, one in my very own room. Yes, you can do this with any old computer or a brand-spanking-new Raspberry Pi running Debian 10. But those types of servers aren't as powerful as the one I am talking about. With the capacity for 2TB ram, 2 CPUs (two 8-core 16-thread CPUs) and 2 Hard Drive slots with 8TB storage per drive (that's 16TB).

At first, I had comments like "14 year olds shouldn't have equipment like that" and other such similar comments, but I should. You see, I have been planning and coding something huge (which I won't disclose here but you can see the start of it at https://unlac.net). Having your own server brings a lot more responsibility than a pet as the servers need check-ups, tests and general maintenance. I'm great at problem solving and have fixed many errors with VPS servers, and even given quite a lot of advice online.

Anyways, the general point of having a server is that you could even install virtual machine software so you can run many servers in one (aka I would be self-hosting my own VPS servers). Or I could just install apache2, mariaDB and some other tools to make life easier for hosting whatever I would need.

Just thinking about it removes some of my boredom to be honest with you.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jay Salway
All posts