#03 Evening Skies

Lately, I’ve started to appreciate the beauty of the evening sky. With nothing to do and nowhere to go, the only way of seeing the world is either through the bedroom window, the balcony, or from the terrace.

With temperatures soaring all day, the evenings are such a relief.

Especially the twilight that announces the arrival of the moon and the stars. I love staring at the twilight sky. It’s got the subtle brightness from the day and the calmness of the night.

Best of both worlds.

Zen Buddhism tells you that the best way to meditate is to focus on one’s breath. Looking at the evening sky gives me a similar effect.

It pauses me from being the hypochondriac I am and makes me wonder about everything else. Helps me admire all the beautiful things in my life and makes me feel grateful for everything.

It’s weird what nature does to you. When you’re confused, scared, and didn’t know what to do, staring at the ocean, looking at the mountain, or even admiring the colors of the evening sky from the terrace helps.

I remember the countless times I’ve been to Marina beach on hot summer afternoons. I used to sit under the shade of an abandoned shop, look at the waves and listen to a random 80s rock band. It calmed me.

I feel nature has all the answers. Of course, it has. After all, I’m nothing but a part of it. I had come from it. I live in it. And when my time is over, I become part of it.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts