#18 Beach lets you be yourself

#18 Beach lets you be yourself

Created: July 10, 2022 11:17 AM

I came to Chennai from Pondicherry in 1999. One of the things I was excited about when I came to the city was the Marina beach. I’ve heard so much about it and thought I’d get to go there as often as I visited the Rock beach when I was in Pondy. But, I lost access to the beach after coming to Chennai. To get to the beach we had to take a back-breaking bus ride that lasted two hours in traffic. Until 2015, l would’ve visited the beach maybe four times. And, I didn’t see the Besant Nagar beach until 2010.

But, my car changed it all. After getting my car in 2015, I visited the beach almost every weekend. For a brief period in my life, the only weekend plan I had was to visit the beach, stop at a restaurant on the way back and have a hot plate of Pongal-vada for breakfast, come back home and sleep until I was hungry again. Beach visits made my weekends more pleasant.

When I got married, I was drawn towards Rock beach once again as my wife is from Pondy. Every time I visit my in-laws, I wake up early in the morning and go sit at Rock beach reminiscing my childhood.

One of the things I love about beaches is nobody judges what you do at the beach You can dig a huge hole in the ground. Build a sandcastle. Chase crabs. Run backward from the incoming waves. Do sirasasana. Join random strangers and laugh your lungs out. Or even walk upside-down!

Beach lets you be yourself.

For some reason, the society that judges your every move ignores you at the beach. Beach is a judgment-free zone.

I once went to a beach party where a fluorescent board at the open bar said “Life is a beach”. I thought ‘Life is like a beach. It is beautiful, calming despite the crashing waves of constant sorrows and challenges, and you get to be yourself without worrying about what the others are thinking.’

But are we being ourselves?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts