#33 Cross the finish line

In 2013, I got my third camera from a friend and a veteran photographer for Rs.12,000. Since I had only 10,000 from all the photography and design assignments I did, I said I will pay the remaining 2,000 by next month. He agreed with a smile.

He also called me for the Chitra powrnami festival at Karveripattinam (a small village near Krishnagiri) that was scheduled to happen in two days. He said it would be a good place to try out my new camera. I was excited. But, since I did not have any money left with me, I said I can’t join but will try my level best.

All I needed was 1000 rupees to make the trip, but neither I nor my parents had that kind of money as it was the end of the month. The next day I went to college and my professor called me and said: “I am supposed to teach a class at a distance education center tomorrow. I won’t be able to. Can you teach the class? They will pay you Rs.900”. Since I was in the final year of the Master’s degree, I was eligible to teach undergraduate students.

I was excited because the money can get me to the festival. The next day, I went to the Guindy for the class, but I did not commit to going to the festival that was scheduled to start the next day. I didn’t know whether they’ll pay me on the same day or later. I finished the class by 1 PM and they paid me Rs.900. That is when I thought “I can still make it!”

I took the bus home, had lunch, and told my parents that I am going to the festival in Kaveripattinam. I packed my bags and left the house by 4 PM. I got a bus to Vellore and then from there another bus to Krishnagiri. By the time I reached Kaveripattinam, it was 2 AM. I slept for a couple of hours and woke up early to shoot pictures. It was one of the best photography trips of my life.

Life is surprising. 48 hours before the festival I did not have a new camera or the money for the trip. But, it happened! When you badly want something, life doesn’t give you everything. Instead, it gives you something to catch on to - something to work with. It is up to us to use it and cross the finish line.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts