#36 Face value

#36 Face value

Created: July 10, 2022 11:18 AM

One of the things people believe in our country is the face value. We would’ve heardpeople say “He looked like a cop.” or “She looks like a teacher” or even “he looks like a thief”.

Well me? How do I put it.….when I walk into a store, the person who comes into the store after me, for some reason thinks that I work at the store. I have the face of an average working-class man. I once walked into the TI cycles factory outlet located within the manufacturing plant to enquire about the price of a cycle. A few meters into the campus, a guy short guy in formals stopped me. I looked at him.

“Where is your uniform?” he asked in a threatening tone. For a moment, I thought I worked there.

But I ended up saying “I am not an employee. I came here to look for a bicycle.” He apologized and left the place.

People used to ask me “Where is pooja oil?” or “Where is moong dal?” when I’m at the supermarket. This happens to me all the time.

Recently I was at my regular tea shop for my morning tea and vada. This place in Pallikaranai serves amazing medhu vada and coconut chutney at 6 AM in the morning So, I walked into the store, picked up a plate from the counter (as it is self serve), and kept two medhu vadas on the plate. When I was about to pour the chutney, someone tapped on my shoulder.

I turned and there was this big guy with a huge mustache. I could feel his breath on my face. He said “I said two medhu vada parcel. Not for having here”

I said “Okay? What should I do for that?”

Then I quickly recollected my past experiences and said “I don’t work here”

He backed off. In the meantime, the owner of the shop came running and said “Sir! He’s a customer. He doesn’t work here.” A bunch of them giggled between their tea sips and cigarette puffs.

But, it doesn’t bother me much. I enjoy such incidents! It is fun. And, if you think I’d say something like “Don’t judge a book by its cover”, and end the essay, I am not. I was thinking about it today and I thought I’ll share the incident with you.

I’m gonna go have a cup of coffee now. See you tomorrow 😄


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts