#69 Life finds a way

I have a spot to sit idle and do nothing. Everybody should have a spot to sit idle and do nothing.

My spot is not a fancy coffee shop or a mall. It's a barrier that seperates the main road and the service road.

There's a supermarket nearby and I usually get an ice cream or a drink and then sit on the barrier and observe the sky, the people walking around me, and the vehicles whirring past me to best the signal that turns red every ninety seconds.

Today I was sitting at the same place with a can of Thumbs up, looking around for inspiration. I Iooked up at the apartment complex next to the supermarket and I started counting the number of floors.

I was at ten when I noticed something. There was a crack on the concrete and a plant was growing from the crack. It wasn't a window or a balcony, but a cosmetic concrete beam that was built over two blocks. Totally inaccessible by anyone.

How did the plant grow up there? Where did the seeds come from? It cant be birds! Birds can't sit on them. Nobody could've dropped a seed! Is this how the first DNA formed according to the primordial soup theory.

My mind went on a wild ride. But then it struck me. Life is unpredictable. It is the same for the birth of new life and the end of the existing lives. It's a phenomenon no algorithm can predict. No AI can decipher.

Life always finds a way.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts